Buy Feminized Hemp Seeds For The State Of South Carolina CBD Hemp Seeds For Growing In South Carolina
It is legal to grow hemp in South Carolina with the proper permits. The state’s Department of Agriculture issues hemp licenses. Everyone who engages in cultivation, processing, handling, and transporting hemp or hemp products must be licensed.
Get Licensed to Grow Hemp in South Carolina
There are three different hemp permits in the state of South Carolina: farmer, processor, and handler. The Hemp Farmer Permit is the most inclusive and allows the license holder to grow, process, store, and distribute hemp. Though a Hemp Processor Permit does not permit hemp cultivation, it does enable the licensee to handle, process, store, transport, and market hemp to the public. Finally, the Hemp Handler Permit only enables the licensee to handle and transport hemp. It does not permit the license holder to either process or grow hemp in South Carolina.
Note: The application period for the Hemp Farming Permit is currently closed. Hemp processors and handlers may still apply.
All applications require the same necessary information. For example, each requires the full name and contact information of those who are applying. Applicants must also submit their fingerprints for an official background check through both the state and the FBI. Criminal history reports must be no older than 60 days before application submission. No one with a felony drug conviction within the last ten years qualifies for hemp registration.
Applications must also include GPS coordinates of all locations associated with hemp growing, handling, and processing. Location information must include a physical address, a map of the area, and documentation of the total acreage or square footage involved. Moreover, SC hemp farmers must also disclose how many plants will grow both at registration and annual renewal.
Hemp Reporting in South Carolina
Farmers must submit a Planting Report within 15 days after planting the first seed or young hemp plant. Farmers must submit a separate Planting Report for each field, indoor grow structure or greenhouse. The Department must receive outdoor Planting Reports no later than July 31, whereby unused hemp plots are labeled “No Plant.” Conversely, indoor growers must submit planting reports each year by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31.
Farmers must also submit a Harvest Report or a Destruction Request for each location before harvesting or destroying a crop. Those who harvest hemp in South Carolina without proper permissions are subject to regulatory actions, including crop destruction and permit revocation.
SC Hemp Testing and Sampling
Participation in South Carolina’s hemp program includes consent allowing authorized personnel to enter the hemp premises for inspections. Licensed agents may inspect hemp seeds, plants, or plant parts at any time during regular business hours without prior notice to confirm compliance. There are no fees associated with investigative inspections.
All hemp crops in South Carolina are subject to inspection. Applicants must submit a Sample Request Form within 15 days before a proposed harvest date. Shortly after, authorized Department members will enter the hemp premises to take a statistically-significant number of samples. An inspector will mix the samples to produce a homogenous composition of the lot, then test the sample to determine its total THC level.
The inspector must prove with 95 percent accuracy that no more than one percent of the plants in the lot exceeds permissible THC levels. Should the laboratory results indicate non-compliant hemp levels, authorized CSA personnel will seize the lot and destroy it according to the DEA protocol.
Any changes to registration require prompt reporting to the Department. Farmers must submit site changes at least 14 days before implementing changes via the Site Modification Request Form. The form must also accompany a $150 Site Modification Fee for any location other than storage-only sites.
Farmers must also ensure that they maintain proper signage at each location. Signs should include the farmer’s permit number and contact information and include the phrase “South Carolina Hemp Farming Program,” as well.
Finally, farmers must consider land restrictions in their area before applying for licensing. For example, permitted farmers may not grow, process, or handle hemp in residential areas, nor may they use property within 1000 feet of a public access area for hemp growth, handling, or processing.
Buy SC Feminized Hemp Seeds
It is unlawful to produce cannabis plants that exceed the federal maximum THC threshold of 0.3 percent. Those who wish to grow hemp in South Carolina must ensure they only use seeds from a reliable source with valid COAs. Farmers who want to focus on CBD development must only buy feminized hemp seeds to increase cannabinoid yield and improve product quality.
At Fortuna Hemp, we specialize in premium-quality feminized CBD seeds and consulting services. South Carolina’s Department of Agriculture licenses our feminized hemp seeds in compliance with SC Seed Law.