Oklahoma Hemp Seeds
Buy Feminized Hemp Seeds For The State Of Oklahoma
CBD Hemp Seeds For Growing In Oklahoma
Farmers can now grow hemp in Oklahoma under the state’s Industrial Hemp Program. The Industrial Hemp Program sets up rules and guides producers on how to grow hemp in Oklahoma.
Getting Licenced to Grow Hemp in Oklahoma
To grow hemp legally in the state, one has to be licensed by the Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry (ODAFF).
Licensure for the hemp program is now open to qualified individuals and business entities. Previously, farmers had to partner with institutions of higher education to cultivate hemp under the Oklahoma Industrial Hemp Agricultural Pilot Program.
Individuals or businesses who intend to grow CBD seeds must apply for licensing by submitting the Industrial Hemp Grower Application. They must submit the form to the ODAFF at least 30 days before planting, handling, or processing industrial hemp.
The application must include the name, address, and contact details of the applicant, acreage information for outdoor growing, or square footage for indoor locations. Applicants must also attach a map with GPS coordinates showing the growing locations.
Applicants must also state the intended use and disposition of hemp after harvesting. The applicant must provide the approximate dates for planting and harvesting, as well.
Other attachments include proof of land ownership for the grow site.
If the applicant leases the land, he or she must attach a signed, dated, and notarized letter of acknowledgment for each invested landowner. The letter should affirm their approval for hemp cultivation in the area. The lease must explicitly allow that hemp cultivation on the property.
If the applicant is a business, they must also submit proof of registration from the Secretary of State and a list of all business members involved.
The application fee is $500 per contiguous field in addition to a $5 per acre inspection fee. Licenses expire annually on December 31. Licensees must declare hemp harvested after this date when applying for a subsequent license.
Oklahoma Hemp Cultivation Laws
The Department of agriculture requires background checks before issuing licenses. Individuals with a prior felony conviction involving a controlled substance may not participate in the hemp program for at least ten years after the sentence.
Licensees must not provide false information on applications and reports; they must cooperate and provide unrestricted access to their growing sites to the Department.
Failure to provide the information requested by the Department or submit the required reports is considered a violation of the Oklahoma Industrial Hemp Program.
Although violation of the hemp program’s provision will not be subject to criminal enforcement action, if a licensee violates the requirements three times in five years, they shall be ineligible to obtain a license for five years from the date of the third violation. The board may also suspend or revoke any permit for up to one year.
Oklahoma Mandatory Inspection and Testing
The Department may conduct routine or unannounced inspections during regular hours without advance notice to collect samples for testing.
For routine inspections, the Department will send a written notification to the licensee describing the dates and scope of the testing. Licensees must cooperate and offer the inspectors unrestricted access to the growing sites, buildings, and plants.
The Department will then test the samples to verify that the THC concentration does not exceed 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis. If the sample’s THC level exceeds 0.3 percent but is equal or less than one percent, the licensee shall destroy the crop without any other fines or penalties.
If the THC concentration exceeds one percent, the licensee must destroy the plants. Additionally, the Department may impose extra fines or penalties, including denial, revocation, or suspension of the license.
The licensee is responsible for inspection costs of $35 per hour per inspector of actual inspection time and other costs associated with laboratory analysis of the samples collected. Licensees must pay these fees within 30 days of receiving an invoice from the ODAFF.
In the case of non-routine inspections, the Department will waive all costs if they find no inconsistencies or violations.
Oklahoma Hemp Reporting
The Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry require the following reports under its Industrial Hemp Program:
- Harvest Report: A licensee must submit an Industrial Hemp Harvest Report at least 30 days before the harvest dates. The report must include a statement of the intended disposition of the harvest. It must also include the dates, location, and yield of each variety grown in the site.
- Hemp Crop Failure Report: A licensee must submit a Hemp Crop Failure Report if the hemp fails THC testing. The report must outline, in detail, the reason for the failure. Moreover, the licensee must maintain these records for a minimum of three years.
Obtaining Feminized Hemp Seeds in Oklahoma
Licensees can grow feminized hemp seeds in Oklahoma now that the legislature removed the certified seed requirement.
CBD farmers must ensure that they only buy feminized hemp seeds that yield high levels of CBD and low THC yields. The varieties planted must be indicated on the application and the maps attached.
Learn more about Oklahoma’s Hemp Program on their website or contact us to hear how we can help.