Colorado Hemp Seeds
Buy Feminized Hemp Seeds For The State Of Colorado
CBD Hemp Seeds For Growing In Colorado
Getting a license to grow hemp in Colorado is an essential step toward commercial hemp cultivation in the Centennial State. Whether growing for fiber, grain, or CBD, hemp farmers, processors, and handlers must maintain licenses from all appropriate entities and file all mandatory reports error-free and on-time.
Colorado Hemp Cultivation Laws
Those who wish to grow hemp in Colorado must first register to do so. Commercial Industrial Hemp Registrations must be submitted at least 30 days before planting along with the GPS coordinates and a map of the area on which the hemp will grow. This information is shared with law enforcement officials and implies a promise of full cooperation regarding sampling and testing on the premises. Registrants are further responsible for all applicable fees, including inspections and laboratory costs, within 30 days of receiving an invoice.
Alternatively, those associated with universities or other institutes of higher education can submit a Research and Development Industrial Hemp Registration form. This application is exclusively for educational research entities and cannot change after submission. Applications must be received at least 30 days before planting and must include much of the same information as commercial hemp registrations. Only one type of registration is allowed per entity.
Registrants must further ensure that no plants containing more than .3 percent THC grow on registered hemp property. Moreover, all plant matter that is grown, harvested, or processed must do so under the proper registration. Farmers that do not destroy volunteer or unplanned plants must register them with the state, as well.
Mandatory Hemp Reporting in Colorado
Farmers must submit three reports minimum throughout the growing season in addition to gaining their hemp registration in Colorado. These reports include a Pre-Planting Report, a Planting Report, and a Harvest report. Additionally, those who intend to grow volunteer (unplanned) plants on registered land must indicate this on both Planting and Harvesting reports.
- Pre-Planting Report: Before sewing any feminized hemp seeds or transplanting any clones, farmers must submit a pre-planting report. The statement should verify that the varieties grown will contain permissible THC levels, usually in the form of a Certificate of Analysis or COA. The statement must also include detailed descriptions of each hemp variety the farmers plan to grow and an outline of its intended uses.
- Planting Report: Farmers must submit planting reports no more than ten days after planting cannabis (hemp) seeds or clones. An additional planting report is also required of any volunteer plants no more than ten days after their emergence if the farmer does not plan to destroy them. Planting reports must include a list or description of all varieties (including volunteer plants if necessary) and GPS coordinates of the land. Additional planting reports are also required any time plants move within or to another registered growing site unless moving from one pot to another.
- Harvest Report: Farmers must submit a harvest report no less than 30 days before harvesting hemp crops. The harvest report will outline all intended uses of the harvest, the location of each variety being harvested, and any volunteer plants that are to be harvested. Any changes to harvest time in excess of five days must be reported on an Amended Harvest Report.
Sampling and Testing Hemp in Colorado
All Colorado hemp program registrants agree to have their crops inspected and tested as the Colorado DOA sees fit. The Commissioner will send notifications to each registrant outlining the scope of testing, after which the registrant has ten days to respond to set a time and date of inspection. Note that either the registrant or a designated representative must be present during crop inspection. Additionally, the Department inspector should have complete, unrestricted access to the entire location, including all plants, plant parts, and seeds.
Crops with non-compliant THC levels (those with more than .3 percent THC on a dry weight basis) may result in suspension or revocation of a hemp registration. The Commissioner may request multiple inspections to determine crop compliance with a monetary burden falling on the registrant. Testing fees are $125 per inspection. Farmers must reimburse the Department within 30 days after receiving the invoice. For more information about Colorado hemp testing and sampling, visit their website.
Next Steps to Legally Grow Hemp in Colorado
After gaining all necessary permits to grow hemp in Colorado, the next step is to purchase high-quality hemp seeds or young plants. Those who wish to grow hemp for CBD should only buy feminized seeds to increase CBD production. Feminized seeds also ensure that all hemp plants will produce CBD-rich flowers, thus increasing total land coverage of CBD-rich hemp plants.