Nevada Hemp Seeds
Buy Feminized Hemp Seeds For The State Of Nevada
CBD Hemp Seeds For Growing In Nevada
Grow Hemp in Nevada by Following the Rules of the State’s Hemp Program. The program is administered by the Nevada Department of Agriculture (NDA) under the 2014 Farm Bill.
Getting Licensed to Grow Hemp in Nevada
To grow hemp in Nevada, one must apply for one of the three licenses provided by the Nevada Department of Agriculture. The applicant can determine the type of license he or she requires based on their hemp production goals.
Persons or business entities who wish to grow hemp for biomass must complete and submit the Hemp Grower Application. The application fee for a grower’s license is $500 plus $5/acre or $0.33/1000 square feet.
If the grower intends to harvest viable seed for distribution or replication, they must submit an Industrial Hemp Seed Producer Application. One must have valid hemp grower permits before receiving a seed production license. This application fee is also $100 plus $5/acre or $0.33/1000 square feet.
Those who wish to engage in processing, including commodities, products, or agricultural hemp seed, must submit the Industrial Hemp Handler’s Application. Those who will process hemp oil for use in food or animal products must attain this license. The application fee a Hemp Handler’s License is $1,000 per facility.
All hemp program applications require the correct applicant’s name, address, and contact information. Also needed are the site’s address, coordinates, maps, and size.
Additionally, applicants must indicate their intentions for crop production. The Handler’s Application requires a detailed explanation of the process, including a list of which equipment and solvents the license-holder will use.
Applicants must provide land ownership information in their application, as well. If the applicant does not own the site, the applicant must submit with their application a notarized statement from the landowner authorizing hemp cultivation and granting NDA staff access to the property.
Nevada Hemp Cultivation Law
All persons or entities dealing with hemp require licensing through the Nevada Department of Agriculture. Any site that will house hemp operations also requires DOA-issued permits before operations can commence. The Department has no area restrictions; applicants may apply to grow as much or as little hemp as they desire.
Applicants must obtain site approval by their local jurisdiction, as well. Additionally, applicants must prove they have obtained water rights for their intended operations. If they are constructing permanent infrastructure at the site, they must have local jurisdictional approval.
Applicants must have no criminal record concerning controlled substances within five years of the application date. The Department may obtain a law enforcement background check if deemed necessary.
All permits issued by the Department expire on December 31 of each year. Growers and producers must notify the Department of any material still present on the site after the permit period expires.
Inspection, Sampling, and Testing Hemp in Nevada
Hemp growers are subject to inspections by the Department. The NDA may take samples from the fields to determine if the crop meets federal requirements.
The Department shall carry out two inspections during a growing season; site inspection 15 days post-planting and a final inspection 15 days before harvest.
Growers and producers must submit a representative sample to the Department or an independent DOA-approved laboratory at least 15 days before harvesting. The laboratories will submit the results directly to the Department.
It is illegal to hemp harvested before sampling. Pre-sample harvested material might be seized or embargoed by NDA because the Department considers it a failed test. The Department will not renew permits to applicants who harvest hemp before sampling.
Harvested hemp cannot move from storage until the Department obtains its test results. If the sample is compliant, the NDA will issue a report of analysis. At that point, the producer may move or sell the harvested hemp.
However, if the sample tests above 0.3 percent THC, the grower must submit a plan for effective disposal for Department approval. The NDA will provide a disposal plan if the grower fails to submit one.
Mandatory Hemp Reporting in Nevada
Growers and seed producers must submit the following reports to the Nevada Department of Agriculture:
- Harvest Report: Farmers must submit a Harvest Report notifying the Department of their intent to harvest at least 15 days before harvest.
- Post Production Report: Hemp growers must submit a Post Production Report 90 days after harvest detailing how they used the biomass.
A grower, handler or producer must maintain all records for at least three years and produce them within three at the Department’s request.
Buy Nevada Feminized Hemp Seeds
The NDA allows the use of both AOSCA certified CBD seeds and non-certified feminized hemp seeds.
For non-certified CBD seeds, the maximum production is limited to five acres or under 5 pounds of seed for the first year unless the applicant can provide analysis reports showing the variety produces less than 0.3% THC consistently.
Applicants can buy feminized hemp seeds domestically or internationally by submitting a “materials order form” attached to the application form. Seeds will ship to the Department’s Sparks headquarters for grower pickup if eligible.
Find out more about Nedava’s Hemp Program on their website or contact us to learn more.