New Jersey Hemp Seeds
Buy Feminized Hemp Seeds For The State Of New Jersey
CBD Hemp Seeds For Growing In New Jersey
Growing hemp in New Jersey requires following a strict set of guidelines to do so legally. Both growers and processors must attain appropriate hemp licensing in the sate. To be clear, any person who wishes to buy New Jersey hemp seeds must receive all the proper permits before participating in the activity.
Getting Licensed to Grow Hemp in New Jersey
The 2018 Farm Bill legalized the cultivation, processing, and handling of hemp and hemp products nationwide. New Jersey’s Hemp Program was among the first states to be approved by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA).
Anyone wishing to grow hemp in the State of New Jersey must complete a thorough application process with the New Jersey Department of Agriculture (NJDA). Hemp growers must sign a Grower Licensing Application before taking possession of any viable hemp seeds or in-program harvested hemp materials. Conversely, those who will process or handle hemp must submit the Hemp Processor/Handler Application. Prospective farmers, handlers, and processors should also pay appropriate fees when registering with the NJDA.
Below are the 2020 New Jersey Hemp Program Fees:
Application Fee – $50
Farmers – $300 annually plus $15 per acre
Grain and CBD Processors – $1,450 annually
CBD Processors – $1,000 annually
Grain Processors – $450 annually
Handlers – $450 annually
Applicants must include a description of the place where hemp will be grown, handled, or processed. The description must consist of geospatial coordinates and block or lot number(s), as well as the size of the growing area. Also, registrants must provide proof of permission to engage in hemp cultivation. An example of written proof may come in the form of a deed or written agreement by a landowner.
Additionally, before an application can be approved, all “key participants” must undergo a New Jersey State Police background check. Background checks are done annually for all applicants, including the signing authorities for the business entity.
Even though the State’s Hemp Program is at the forefront of the national hemp industry, New Jersey Hemp Production Plan incorporates a set of reasonable restrictions or rules governing hemp farmers, handlers, and processors.
Sampling, Testing, and Reporting Hemp in New Jersey
Within two weeks of expected harvest, the NJDA or a DEA-registered third-party lab will take hemp samples for compliance testing. Approved growers are also subject to yearly sampling and inspection by the NJDA.
The NJDA can also conduct additional inspections without giving advance notice. Additionally, licensees’ consent to the NJDA, state or local law enforcement, and other regulators entering licensed premises.
For purposes other than compliance testing, producers can run an in-house testing lab provided it observes the regulations applicable to third-party labs. For more info about New Jersey hemp sampling and testing, visit their site.
By December 15 of each year, all registrants must also submit an Annual Report Form. The form is straightforward and only asks that farmers report the total acreage grown, how much of it they harvested, and how much they destroyed.
Next Steps to Growing Hemp Legally in New Jersey
After being approved to grow hemp in New Jersey, the next step is purchasing high-quality hemp seeds. Farmers should choose their seeds wisely. Those who plant to grow hemp for CBD should only buy feminized seeds. Female hemp seeds produce high CBD levels and only small amounts of THC.
Female CBD seeds make sure that each plant produces copious amounts of cannabinoids and terpenes without producing seeds or unwanted male plants. Additionally, feminized seeds guarantee that plants will produce abundant flowers, thus increasing total land coverage of CBD-rich hemp plants.
To learn more about New Jersey’s Hemp Program, visit their website or contact us to learn how we can help.