Buy Feminized Hemp Seeds For The State Of Pennsylvania CBD Hemp Seeds For Growing In Pennsylvania
Grow Hemp in Pennsylvania by Following the State’s Hemp Program Rules and State Laws.
Pennsylvania’s hemp program is one of the 18 USDA-approved state plans under the 2018 Farm Bill. Pennsylvania operates under a General Permit authorized by the Act relating to Controlled Plants and Noxious Weeds.
Pennsylvania Hemp Permit Application Process
Growing and processing hemp in Pennsylvania requires a permit from the PA Department of Agriculture (PDA). The license is issued annually and expires on December 31st.
Participants must apply for the permit by completing and submitting the Pennsylvania Hemp Permit Application. Applicants may submit the form online at Pa Plants. Conversely, they may print and mail the completed form to the Bureau of Plant Industry Hemp Program.
Required details include the applicant’s business name and EIN if the applicant is a business entity. The Department does not require an EIN from individual applicants. Other details include the address and contacts that the Department may use to contact the grower or the processor.
Individual applicants and key business participants are ineligible for a permit if they have a felony drug charge within the past ten years.
As per USDA’s Interim Rule, applicants and all key business participants must pass an FBI background check. The PDA only accepts FBI background clearance reports provided directly by IdentoGO.
The application must also include the physical address and property information of the intended growing sites. Additionally, the applicant must attach a map and provide a single GPS point at the entrance of the location or the main building at the growing site.
Sometimes, the applicant does not own the proposed growing or processing area. In this case, they must attach a copy of the fully executed lease signed by the owner and issued to the applicant. They must also attach a Leased Property Access Agreement granting the department access to the property for three years after the permit expires.
Each application costs $150.
Pennsylvania Hemp Cultivation Laws
Applicants must obtain a separate permit and application for every hemp property they intend to use. Please note, the license must include a specific address tied to the licensee. As such, The Department does not require a separate license for multiple fields at the same address.
Under the state’s hemp program, an applicant must plant and maintain a minimum of a quarter acre and 300 plants in an outdoor field. For indoor planting, the minimum is 2000 square feet and 200 plants for the growing season. However, the PDA may provide prior written approval to circumvent this.
Additionally, hemp cannot grow within 200 feet of any residential structure or 1000 feet of a pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade school property or a public park. Moreover, the hemp growing site must be at least three miles away from a Pennsylvania Department of Health Medical Marijuana Grower or Processor.
Inspection, Sampling, and Testing of Hemp in Pennsylvania
The Department of Agriculture may conduct unannounced inspections during regular business hours. Additionally, they will notify the permit holder of a pending investigation. As such, the permit-holder must grant the department inspectors unrestricted access to all permitted sites, structures, buildings, and facilities involved in the hemp project.
All hemp planted in the state requires sampling and testing to determine THC concentration levels. Note that it is the permit holder’s responsibility to hire a PDA-certified sampling agent to take the samples and submit them for testing. Additionally, the permit-holder must also designate an independent laboratory to test the samples for THC.
Please note, the Department may conduct random audits and take its own samples for testing. The permit-holder must schedule the testing within 15 days before harvest and to be present during sampling.
It is unlawful to harvest hemp before an official tester takes samples. Moreover, harvested hemp may not be moved from the growing site without the test confirming the THC levels at/or below 0.3 percent. Additionally, harvested hemp may not move without written approval from the Department, such as Letter of Clearance.
Mandatory Hemp Reporting in Pennsylvania
Farmers with a permit to grow hemp in Pennsylvania must submit the following reports to the PDA:
Planting Report: The permit holder shall submit a planting report within ten days after planting. The planting report must state the date of planting, variety planted, the grow site map, and current stage of development
Failed Crop Destruction Report: Sometimes, the crop is not suitable for harvest. If it is rendered useless at the growing site, a permit holder must submit the Failed Crop Destruction Report. This report is due within ten days of destroying any surviving hemp plants.
Harvest Report: The permit holder must submit a harvest report detailing the harvested quantities and disposition of the crop by lot number.
Inactive Permit Report: Permit holders must submit this inactive permit report if they determine that there will be no activities under the permit.
Obtaining Pennsylvania Feminized Hemp Seeds
Permit holders are solely responsible for obtaining feminized hemp seeds for planting. They may purchase seeds from other countries, states, or dealers in Pennsylvania. However, any seed company, whether in-state or out of state, must have a PA Seed Dealers License.